
We’ve got a great tutorial below showing you how to create a chevron design. In just a few short steps you will have produced a fabric design which you can then upload to our site.
To download GIMP, simply go to www.gimp.org/downloads/ and follow the instructions on screen.
1) Choosing the correct size
The first step is to decide on the size of your design. In this tutorial, we’re going to create a canvas of 1000 pixels x 1180 pixels (width x length). The size is important, as it will determine later whether you will be able to repeat your pattern on our site. To do this, click File > New. You will need to click on the dropdown box and select cms, then enter the measurements.
Next click on Advanced Options and enter 150 pixels for both the X and Y resolution.
(Tip: It is important to keep it on the default setting of landscape and RGB colour space.)
2) Creating chevrons
First you need to create a new layer. This can be done by selecting Layer > New Layer. Choose the foreground colour option then click ok.
You now need to fill the canvas with colour. Click on the foreground colour located on the tool box. From here select the colour you want to make your chevrons. For this tutorial I've chosen a light blue. Next Select the Bucket Fill Tool from the Tool box and click this anywhere over the canvas.
Now you’ll need to create your horizontal lines. To do this click on Filters > Render > Pattern > Grid
You’ll need to unlink the chains beneath the width and spacing options. The next step is to choose the colour, thickness and spacing between each chevron. I’ve chosen a width of 118 pixels and a spacing of 236 pixels and kept the colour as white. It is entirely up to you what you want to choose. However, the vertical lines and intersection should be left at 0, apart from the vertical line spacing which is 1 pixel.
To convert our horizontal lines into v shapes, go to Filter > Distort > Ripple.
Next select the following options: Antiliasing, Vertical, Smear and Sawtooth.For the period I selected 200, amplitude 58 and phase shift 0. These will dictate the shape of your chevrons so it’s worth playing around with them until you’re happy with the pattern. Please be careful though as some selections will cause issues with your design.
Once you’re pleased with your chevron pattern you’ll need to save it. To do this go to File > Export As > select file type (by extension). Then select png and click export.
Woven Monkey site
Now you can upload your design to our site. Click on the Go Create button then follow the instructions to create your fabric. Don’t forget that you have several repeat options available on our website. However, you should select the basic repeat for a chevron-style pattern, otherwise the pattern won’t line up. You also have a very handy preview of how your design will look on the fabric. For more information on how our service works please click here: www.wovenmonkey.com/how-it-works/
Once you’ve created your design and placed your order then all you have to do is wait for delivery of your beautiful, custom-designed fabric! Usually your order will be despatched within 7 to 10 working days.
If this has inspired you to create more patterns why not visit GIMP’s official tutorials at www.gimp.org/tutorials/
Want to hear more about our great fabrics? Check out our fabric guide page. Want to chat to one of our experts? Let’s chat.







